Back at the drawing board

So I’ve been jobless for a while and am living off my savings. I want to take my time to figure out what it is I want to do but the thought of running out of money and not having a plan eats at me every day. It’s always at the back of my head, “Get a job, apply for that five figure job at the bank.” Sometimes though, it’s more like, “Life is short, do what you want to do.”

And I’m thinking, yeah I don’t want to get a 9-5 (though it’s more like 9-6 nowadays) and spend my time getting stuck in traffic on the way back (and on the way to work). I tried it and it sucks – Money in the bank but more money than I know what to do with (well before y’all think I’m making that much, I should say that I don’t make a truckload of cash, I just spend very little I suppose).

Anyways, the battle is still ongoing, “get a job!”, “don’t get a job!”, “get a job!”, “no, don’t get a job!”… you get the drift. But I have to say that the latter is getting the upper hand. It makes more sense, doesn’t it? Time is more precious that money. Time is un-loanable, un-returnable, un-extendable (sorry for butchering the English language). Time is all we have. I don’t see the sense in giving up two thirds of my time in return for cash because, what good is money when I’m old and grey? I’d still be old and waiting for death anyways. Might as well start early.

I guess now I just have to figure out a way to make a living, another way, my way. I’ll have to work something out, but I don’t know what yet, and the road is not clear. Will it ever be clear? I don’t know. But I hope that the universe, or life, or whatever it is, will help me along. I’d like a big neon sign that says, “THIS WAY”, with a big arrow pointing at the right direction, but I guess I’ll just have to make do with smaller signs for now. Like some serendipitous event or something. I can live with that.

2 thoughts on “Back at the drawing board

    1. Glad you do so πŸ™‚ I have some good news to share – So today my friend, whom I’ve been helping out with some proofreading every now and then since last year, just called me asking for help with another project, only this time I’ll be getting paid! It’s not a lot but I’ll take this as a sign. So hang in there sister! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

